Saturday, May 23, 2009

Saturday, May 16, 2009

Pentatonic canon at the fourth.

If one takes the major pentatonic scale (scale degrees 1, 2, 3, 5 & 6) and writes a canon at the fourth (or fifth for that matter), the resulting combined scales still only use pitches contained in the major (heptatonic) scale.

That's what I explored here. The dux is in C major pentatonic C, D, E, G, A and the comes is in F major pentatonic -- F, G, A, C, D. All of the pitches are members of the C major scale.

Today, first species--elaboration tomorrow.

(click on image to enlarge)

No comments:

Post a Comment