Sunday, April 5, 2009

Saturday, April 4, 2009

The diminished chord and the octatonic (or diminished) scale are both symmetrical structures.

The diminished seventh chord divides the octave into four equal parts:

E (m3) G (m3) Bb (m3) Db (m3) E
The diminished scale is made up of two diminished seventh chords.
In this case:

E G Bb Db and B D F Ab

It (the scale) divides each minor third of the chord into a half step and whole step.

Todays canon is in the spirit of J.S. Bach's Trias Harmonica -- not really an artistic canon but a demonstration of the facts outlined above.

(click on image to enlarge)

No comments:

Post a Comment